top of page


The National Nutrient Databank Conference is held bi-annually to foster communication among nutrient database generators and users.  Participation is open to researchers from academia, the food industry, government, and other interested parties. We invite you to learn more.

About Us

NNDC History

Since 1976, the National Nutrient Databank Conference (NNDC) Steering Committee has organized formal meetings for food composition experts, researchers, and software developers/users to keep abreast of changes and developments in food composition databases (FCDBs). FCDBs are cornerstones to nutrition research, food and nutrition monitoring and surveillance, clinical nutrition practice, and food development. As such, they are important to the academia, federal government, healthcare professionals, food industry, database managers, and the public.

In particular, applications of FCDBs reach the nutrition and food community, assisting dietitians in counseling, clinicians in conducting research, and food companies in product development, labeling, and consumer relations.    


Throughout the years, NNDC has gained increasing acknowledgment and participation, and it has been held as a satellite meeting to both the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and the American Society for Nutrition in the United States. Going forward, NNDC aims to enhance participation from international counterparts specializing in FCDBs to further shape the future of this unique field and, ultimately, to help maintain and improve nutrition health for all.

Committee Members

Committee Members

The Executive and Steering Committees of the NNDC are volunteer positions held by a diverse team of industry veterans, researchers, scientists, and leaders.

Executive Committee

Pamela Pehrsson

United States Department
of Agriculture 

Lauri Byerley


American Public University System and Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center New Orleans

Nancy Emenaker

National Cancer Institute/NIH

Lisa Harnack

Nutrition Coordinating Center, University of Minnesota

Julie Eichenberger-Gilmore
Grants Manager

Veterans Affairs, Retired

Young No


Steering Committee

Isabelle Massarelli

Host 43rd NNDC

Health Canada

Thea Bourianne

Program Committee Chair

NIQ Label Insight

Dana Hoffman-Pennesi
Communications Committee Chair

Food & Drug Administration

Claire Peacock

Nominations Committee Chair


Cristine Barrosa

University of Tennessee

Catherine Champagne

Pennington Biomedical
Research Center

Julie Hess
United States Department
of Agriculture 

David Holben

University of Mississippi

Colin Kay

University of Arkansas
for Medical Sciences

Wen Yen Juan

Food & Drug Administration

Mary L'Abbé

University of Toronto

Diane Mitchell

Texas A&M University System

Alanna Moshfegh

United States Department
of Agriculture

Judith Spungen
Food & Drug Administration

Marie-France Verreault
Health Canada

Yong Zhu

Wayzek Science

Thea Zimmerman

bottom of page